What's New

Archive for the ‘laws’ Category

Introducing: Bernard in the Backseat

Wednesday, September 7th, 2016

Click it or Ticket. Back seat, too.

Download English Version     Download Español Version

Why It’s So Important

Friday, May 2nd, 2014


Whether you’re the driver, front seat passenger, or back seat passenger, you have to buckle up.
It’s a state law. And not doing so could cost you up to $200. Want an even better reason?
Your seat belt is your number one best defense in case of a crash.

A DEADLY OVERSIGHT.
If you forget to buckle up or choose not to, you’re putting yourself in harm’s way. It’s common that unbuckled passengers get thrown from their vehicle, which all too often rolls over and crushes them.

BACK SEAT DANGER.
Unbelted back seat passengers can become human projectiles in a car crash. They can be tossed around inside the vehicle and even injure or kill those in the front seat.

ATTENTION ALL ADULTS.
Texas law requires drivers and all passengers in a vehicle to be secured by a seat belt. Yes, that means unbuckled adult passengers in the back seat can face fines and court costs of up to $200.

KIDS CAN COST, TOO.
Children younger than eight years old must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches. Fines can be as high as $250 plus court costs.

Don’t Pickup a Ticket

Thursday, May 3rd, 2012



TxDOT launched its 11th annual Click It or Ticket safety campaign with a Click it or Ticket-themed pickup suspended in air with seat belt material. It’s part of the agency’s efforts to call attention to the life-saving properties of seat belts and alert motorists of the annual crackdown on those who don’t buckle up.

Texas currently ranks seventh in the nation for overall seat belt use, and 93.7 percent of Texas motorists use their seat belts according to the Texas Transportation Institute. While Texas drivers and passengers are now buckling up in record numbers, seat belt use among pickup truck drivers and passengers continues to lag behind. That’s why safety officials especially are hoping to convince more pickup drivers and passengers to buckle up.

See the full “Click It or Ticket” news release here.

Stepping Up Enforcement

Monday, May 2nd, 2011

Between May 23 and June 5, law enforcement officers will increase efforts to ticket drivers and passengers who aren’t buckled up.

Here’s the law in Texas: everyone in the vehicle must be secured by a seat belt. That means unbuckled adult passengers in the back seat will be ticketed, too.

Officers will also ticket drivers whose young passengers are not properly buckled up. Children younger than 8 years old must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches tall. Fines are up to $250, plus court costs.

Law enforcement can download the promotional flyer with instructions on how to participate in the incentive program here.

Funny or Die Spoof

Friday, May 21st, 2010

This “Funny or Die” spoof may be funny, but it won’t be funny if you’re the one getting a ticket. State troopers, sheriff’s departments and local police are increasing enforcement of the state’s safety belt laws.


Watch the video here.

Teen Enforcement Begins

Monday, May 17th, 2010


The annual “Click It or Ticket” enforcement period begins today. Law enforcement officers in Bexar, Dallas, Harris, Hidalgo, and Tarrant counties are out in full force this week ticketing teen drivers who aren’t buckled up. So when you’re on your way to the movies, the mall, or even to prom, remember to always wear your seat belt, in the front AND back seats. A seat belt fine could run you up to $250!

Check out www.seatbeltsrock.com.

TxDOT’s Got Your Back

Friday, May 14th, 2010

The Texas Department of Transportation will be airing a new television PSA to give Texans a head’s up: buckling up in the backseat will save you the trouble of a ticket. From May 17 through June 6, TxDOT will sponsor a statewide campaign to remind everyone to buckle up, in both the front seat and backseat.

Click It or Ticket. Even in the back seat.

Sunday, May 2nd, 2010

Click It or Ticket Texas Logo

State laws passed in 2009 included new safety belt requirements for both drivers and passengers. For the first time, all passengers (including adults) in the back seat now must be buckled up, and children younger than 8 years old have to ride in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are 4 feet 9 inches tall. Fines range from $25 to $250 plus court costs.

“Whether you’re the driver or a passenger in the front or back seat, every adult and every child in the vehicle must be properly restrained,” said Carol Rawson, TxDOT’s Traffic Operations Division Director. “Buckling up saves lives, and it can also save you from getting an expensive ticket.”